Prison timeline

Prison timeline

Prison timeline with Nelson Mandela’s prison numbers

5 August 1962: Arrested

7 November 1962: Sentenced to five years for leaving the country without a passport and incitement. Begins serving his sentence at the Pretoria Local Prison
Prisoner number: 19476/62

27 May 1963: Is transferred to Robben Island

12 June 1963: Is transferred back to Pretoria Local Prison
Prisoner number: 11657/63

11 June 1964: Is convicted of sabotage with Walter Sisulu, Ahmed Kathrada, Raymond Mhlaba, Govan Mbeki, Elias Motsoaledi, Denis Goldberg and Andrew Mlangeni

12 June 1964: Is sentenced to life imprisonment with Sisulu, Kathrada, Mhlaba, Mbeki, Motsoaledi, Goldberg and Mlangeni

13 June 1964: Arrives on Robben Island with Sisulu, Kathrada, Mhlaba, Mbeki, Motsoaledi and Mlangeni. Goldberg is sent to Pretoria as he is white
Prisoner number: 466/64

31 March 1982: Is transferred to Pollsmoor Prison with Sisulu, Mhlaba and Mlangeni. They are joined by Kathrada in October
Prisoner number: 220/82

28 February 1985: Goldberg is released

5 November 1987: Mbeki is released from Robben Island

12 August 1988: Is taken to Tygerberg Hospital where TB is diagnosed

31 August 1988: Is transferred to Constantiaberg MediClinic

7 December 1988: Is transferred to Victor Verster Prison
Prisoner number: 1335/88

15 October 1989: Sisulu, Kathrada, Mhlaba, Motsoaledi and Mlangeni are released with Oscar Mpetha and Jeff Masemola

11 February 1990: Madiba is released from Victor Verster Prison