Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is responsible for the good governance of the Nelson Mandela Centre of Memory. The Board of Trustees has collective responsibility to provide effective governance, and as such the Trustees must remain independent and objective, serving the interests of the Centre as a whole. The Board of Trustees meets four times a year.

Professor Njabulo Ndebele

Chairperson of the Board of Trustees. Prominent writer and academic, former Vice-Chancellor of the University of the North and of the University of Cape Town.


Mr Ahmed Kathrada

Rivonia trialist alongside Mr Mandela, Mr Kathrada spent many years imprisoned on Robben Island; former Parliamentary Counsellor in the Office of President Mandela.



Mr Chris Liebenberg

Former Minister of Finance in the post-apartheid Government of National Unity. Member of the Centre’s Audit & Risk Committee.



Mrs Irene Menell

A prominent philanthropist, Mrs Menell is a Trustee of the READ organisation in South Africa, which promotes literacy. Member of the Audit & Risk Committee.



Mr Kgalema Motlanthe

Kgalema Motlanthe is the Deputy President of the Republic of South Africa. He served as President of the Republic of South Africa from September 2008 to May 2009. He is also the Deputy President of the African National Congress (ANC) (December 2007) and a Member of Parliament (July 2008). He is the former Secretary General of the ANC (1997 to 2007). Mr Motlanthe is a former political prisoner.


Ms Futhi Mtoba

Futhi Mtoba is the Chairperson of Deloitte Southern Africa. A chartered accountant, she joined the firm in 1988 and rose through ranks to become the first black female partner and subsequently Chairperson of Deloitte Southern Africa. She is also the past President of the Association for the Advancement of Black Accountants of Southern Africa. Chairperson of the Centre’s Audit & Risk Committee.


Dr Mamphela Ramphele

Former Vice-Chancellor of the University of Cape Town; retired Managing Director of the World Bank. Now a prominent businesswoman.



Mr Tokyo Sexwale

Former political prisoner on Robben Island, former Premier of the Gauteng province, prominent businessman and currently in the Cabinet of the South African government as Minister of Human Settlements. Chairperson of the Centre’s Resource Development Committee.


From left, standing: Professor Njabulo Ndebele, Futhi Mtoba, Achmat Dangor (Chief Executive), Irene Menell, Ahmed Kathrada. From left, sitting and kneeling: Tokyo Sexwale, Dr Mamphela Ramphele, Nelson Mandela and Chris Liebenberg. Absent: Professor GJ Gerwel and Kgalema Motlanthe (photo taken in 2010)